Students Phuong Dao, Cynthia Morinville, Jennifer Langill and Lea Ravensbergen win awards at the AAG

Congratulations to our AAG award winners!  

Cynthia Morinville, supervised by Raj N Reddy, received the Glenda Laws Student Paper Award for her paper titled “Women, Labour, and the Circulation of Value in Bholakpur’s Scrap Economy”. This award is administered by the Feminist Geographies Speciality Group.

Lea Ravensbergen, supervised by Ron Buliung, received the PhD Dissertation Prize in Urban Geography. This award was administered by the Urban Geography Speciality Group. 

Phuong Dao, supervised by Yuhong He, was awarded second place in the Student Honors Paper Competition of the Remote Sensing Specialty Group. Phuong’s paper entitled “Improving Hyperspectral Image Segmentation by Applying Inverse Noise Weighting and Outlier Removal for Optimal Scale Selection” is co-authored with Kiran Mantripragada, Yuhong He, and Faisal Qureshi.

Jennifer Langill, supervised by Christian Abizaid, received the 2020 Gilbert White Thesis Award. This award was administered by the Hazards, Risk and Disasters Specialty Group.