COBS-SWO-Standard Census Boundaries 2006

Context: This geodatabase includes the following census geographic units: dissemination areas (DA), census tracts (CT), census subdivisions (CSD), census divisions (CD) and census metropolitan areas (CMA).  Tabular information has been added to each data set so that one geographic unit can be linked to another by name and numeric ID.  For example, with these data a user can identify all dissemination areas that reside in a lower or upper-tier municipality (CSD or CD) simply with the name of the relevant municipality.

Process: The data sets were derived from the Census Digital Boundary files, generalized using a series of rules, and aggregated from the smallest geographic unit DA to the largest CMA so that all boundary files align.  Lastly where a hydrographic feature such as a river or a lake forms the boundary of a census geographic unit, the original line has been replaced by the appropriate COBS hydrographic data set.

Coverage Area: Greater Golden Horseshoe

For further information contact: Byron Moldofsky, Manager, GIS and Cartography Office, Department of Geography